Lori Leger's Cajunflair Blog

Fictional Romance with a Cajun Flair

Hello from Orlando

I’m writing this from the Dolphin Hotel in Orlando Florida, folks…the land of Mickey Mouse.  This conference is fabulous! There are thousands of women here from all 50 states and 14 countries, as well as a handful of men. I’ve met so many people and have so many websites and blogs to explore once I get home and shuffle through the fifty or sixty business cards I’ve collected. The experience of meeting new people and making new connections and friends is worth every bit of trouble we went through to get here. We spent three hours in the PRO retreat today hearing agents and editors from different publishers speak about trends, submission guidelines, etc., and have several workshops to attend tomorrow and Saturday. We had breakfast with the very beautiful and generous Shirley Jump, who paid for all of our meals. We’ll have breakfast with two more authors, Rachelle Chase and Leigh Michaels on Saturday morning, as well as hang around with a new forever friend, Farrah Rochon, who is also published. I’ve met Sabrina Jeffries, Claudia Dain, Lorraine Heath and so many others that my exhausted mind can’t seem to remember right now. The luncheon today with Nora Roberts was fantastic..what a funny, gracious lady. We just watched the impressive Disney World fireworks display from the window of our hotel room…beautiful!!!  I have so many things to tell you all, but I just can’t get it all in tonight, folks. It’s bedtime…we’ve got to be up at 6 in the morning so we can go down and do it all over again tomorrow.

Catch you then,

~Lori~

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Hello from Orlando

  1. Glad you are enjoying yourself. It probably is too much to take in – Christmas in July! Happy you are doing what you enjoy doing and with so many others who enjoy it also. Always uplifting and encouraging to be around people who do what you do. Learn alot and have a safe trip home.

  2. Kathy on said:

    I can’t wait to hear what you all did today and of course how the RITA awards go!! I had such a great time with you, Trish and Farrah on Wed.

  3. Lori, it was GREAT meeting you at RWA! Wasn’t the whole conference a blast? First time I’d been back since 1997, and also the first time as a published author. What a milestone. I came home so inspired and energized.

    • Hey Mary Lee, I started your book last night (Heart of Lies) and can’t put it down. Very interesting story. I’m trying to finish it by Saturday so I can pass it on to members at our Bayou Writers’ Group meeting in Lake Charles. I will definitely be there to see you. I want my 84 year old mother to read it so I can bring her to meet you. She’d get such a kick out of it. Thanks for checking out the blog for me.

  4. Kathy, I had such a blast with you and the girls. So special getting to be there when you all met Trish in person for the first time. I’m exhausted…my ankles have completely disappeared, but so satisfied with the entire experience. Made soooo many new friends that I know I’ll keep forever. YOU are one of them. The RITA was fabulous…Sabrina Jeffries is hysterically funny in an Erma Bombeck sort of way. I’ll catch up with you later…still unpacking.

  5. Hi,

    I found you! I also found you on Facebook, and will send a friend request. We must keep in touch. I don’t remember if I asked you whether or not you pitched to an editor(s) or agent(s)? Regardless, wasn’t RWA fabulous!!! It really inspired me. Hopefully, I can hang on to the feeling for the next year. lol!

    • Hey Denny…thank you for checking out my blog! No, I didn’t submit at RWA. I didn’t make PRO status until after the deadline had passed to schedule a pitch appointment. I wasn’t quite ready, anyway. Now I know WHO to submit to and what agents to approach. I’m fired up, though. Good to hear from you.

  6. kelliejwin on said:

    Finally, checked out your blog. I like it! And RWA was so inspiring my head is still spinning from all I’ve learned. I was so glad I met you Lori! Now where’s that video? LOL

    • Video? Of Chuck Wicks, you mean? I guess I’ll have to try and download it to my site! Go to CMT or someplace like that. It’s called ‘Hold That Thought’…and I PROMISE you will love it! When the video comes on at my house, my hubby and I dance to it in the kitchen. Good belly rubbin’ song! CW is soooo freaking sexy.

  7. Okay…okay…you should be rested by now. What’s the lowdown for those of us who didn’t go. I’m waaaaiiiittting. 🙂

  8. Ditto on what Jess said!

Leave a Reply

